Mercy and Grace Awaits You

img_2113

© Barbara V. Evers, All rights reserved.

And like a flood His mercy rains.

The Chris Tomlin version of “Amazing Grace” played on the radio as I drove home this morning. The line above struck me in a way it never has before.

Like a flood.

If you’ve ever seen a creek rise over its banks and flood the surrounding area, you know nothing stops it. It will swirl around any block and eventually overtake the blockage. God’s mercy will swirl around any block we have to receiving his mercies and overtake those blocks.

His mercy rains.

I must admit, I heard the word “reigns” as opposed to “rains” this morning, so my thoughts carried this interpretation further. According to the online version of Merriam Webster, “reign” means royal authority or the dominion, sway or influence of one resembling a monarch.

Whether you see it as “rains” or “reigns,” his mercy is powerful and can cover a multitude of problems, sins, and issues. This gives me comfort as we venture into 2017. Many of you know that my husband and I are raising two of our grandchildren. Our daughter is absent in their lives as well as ours. I’m not sure she’s fully present in her own life. I know she loves her children, but she’s given in to a life of drugs and all the complications that come with it. As one person explained it to me, the drugs remove all maternal instincts. This insight helped because I couldn’t fathom why, when she’s in jail and clean, she wants to see them, but the minute she’s out of jail, she disappears with no word.

Yes. No word.

Christmas came and went without a peep.

So, I hope she might find a moment to hear those words, and like a flood his mercy rains, and know that she can find peace without addictive substances. I pray that she will understand that the title of this post is written to her. I know God sends her opportunities, but I, also, know he gives us free will. I pray she will open her eyes to the mercy he will offer her and seek the help she needs to return to us.

God bless.

2 thoughts on “Mercy and Grace Awaits You

  1. Thank you Barbara! I needed to hear this today for myself & for those I love. The imagery of a creek rising above it’s banks & flooding an area is powerful! I also love the “reign” imagery. Keeping this in mind as encouragement.

    We all have the tendency as humans to beat ourselves up when we make mistakes or procrastinate something important. This imagery is valuable in showing that GOD will flood us with His Mercy & Grace, HE will carry us on & flood us with His ability to accomplish the task that daunts us; HE reigns & rules & has all Authority over the world HE created & we, His children, that He created. This was an answer to something I had been talking with Him about…well really several things. This served as an affirmation of what I was feeling.

    Thank you for allowing Him to use your voice in order for us to hear HIS VOICE.

    Love you & so proud of you & your husband for raising your grandchildren! Tough job at any age, but more challenging as we get older. You are regularly in my thoughts & prayers.

    Love, prayers & abundant blessings to you & yours!

    Desirée

    *Desirée*

    On Fri, Jan 6, 2017 at 12:52 PM, The Workbench of Faith wrote:

    > Barbara Evers posted: ” And like a flood His mercy rains. The Chris Tomlin > version of “Amazing Grace” played on the radio as I drove home this > morning. The line above struck me in a way it never has before. Like a > flood. If you’ve ever seen a creek rise over its banks and f” >

Tell me what you're thinking

