Giving Thanks: Week 3

cropped-img_4011.jpg

© BV Evers, All Rights Reserrved

Today is the day the Lord has made; rejoice and be glad in it!  Psalm 118:24

Today, I’m thankful for waking up to a new day. The weather is still temperate, and, except fot the smoke from the South Carolina and North Carolina wildfires, it’s a beautiful day.

Because of the smoke, I’m glad for window and door seals that keep the smokey air outside rather than leaking in through little cracks.

I’m, also, thankful for my parents this week. They are gone now, but they provided me with a stable, loving home and stood by me as I traversed the difficult early adult years of my life.

This struck home last night when my grandson complained that he wanted his mommy. He didn’t want to eat his dinner, so, as he does when he doesn’t like our rules, he cried for his mom. The longest I went without my mom  at that age was a week while visiting my grandparents. That was hard for me. I can’t imagine how hard it’s been for him and his sister. It may not be the plan we had for our lives, but I’m thankful that I can provide a stable home for my grandchildren.

Next week is Thanksgiving, so if you haven’t started thinking about what you’re thankful for, now’s a good time.  Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments!

Tell me what you're thinking

