Giving Thanks: Week 1

img_0417Many of you are focused on what will happen in our country tomorrow, election day for the US. I am, but I’m going to steer clear of that topic.  If you want to know my thoughts on how to vote, I wrote about it some time back.

Instead, I’m going to focus on thanks today. Many people list the things they are thankful for during the month of November, and I plan to do the same here.

Today I’m thankful for sunshine. It’s a beautiful day:  blue skies, mild temperatures, no clouds. I love it. Do we need rain? Yes. But I’m going to enjoy the gift God gave me of a new day.

Today is the day the Lord has made, rejoice and be glad in it! Psalms 118:24

I’m, also, thankful for my wonderful husband, Bruce. He came into my life at the right time for the right reasons. He has stood with me as we struggled with various family issues:  rebellious teens (between us, we raised 5 children), parental health issues, career shifts, adult children with problems, raising grandchildren when we should be empty-nesters. I don’t know how well I could have handled these issues without his presence. He made sure I wasn’t alone in each situation. And we have had some amazing and wonderful experiences along the way, too.

The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” Genesis 2:18

I’m thankful for a busy work  schedule last week. When you’re self-employed, it can be feast or famine. Last week was one of the weeks that carries me through the famine weeks. It’s why this post is late, but I can’t complain.

This is just a start. I will add to it in my next post.

What are you thankful for today?

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks: Week 1

Tell me what you're thinking

