Life: Not A Bowl Full of Cherries

When I remarried, I hoped for smoother roads, but life is not a bowl full of cherries, is it?Roaring Lion

Life doesn’t work that way.

Or have you noticed?

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

I’m not trying to be a downer. I loved my expanded family with a new husband and three step-children, but life goes on.

In this world, we will have trouble. It’s that simple. My biggest troubles at the time came from my job. I was working in a great program helping a lot of people straighten out their lives, but Satan looks for any opening to attack.

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.  I Peter 5:8

Just before I started my new job, the President of the organization announced to his staff, “I’ve hired someone for this position, and she’s white.”

Since this was a primarily black organization, the comment ruffled feathers. Not that I was white, but how that was introduced to the staff.

One employee stressed over not being part of my interview process. She had nothing to do with my position, but she thought she deserved input.  Add this to the unfortunate way our boss announced his employment choice, and we have a formula for hate. At first, she pretended to befriend me. I soon realized her motives were not amiable, and I backed off.

She changed tactics, turning tattle-tale, looking for any possible misstep.

Everyone in the organization knew she didn’t like me.

I discussed this with the head of the organization several times, and he advised me to give back what I received.  As a Christian, I couldn’t do that. I turned the other cheek.

I can’t claim with certainty that she was behind the erroneous complaint filed by a customer, but most people believed she was.

A client called to complain that I had told them they didn’t qualify for my program and then had hung up on them. When people didn’t qualify for my program, which happened often, I referred them to other service agencies that could help. I never left people without an option, and I never hung up on a client.

I learned the customer was a plant. Without using my connections outside of work, I never would have been able to prove to my manager that the caller was lying. Thank goodness, I could prove it.

This world is not our home, and we are continually bombarded with problems. Without my church and my husband, I know this attack would have hurt much worse, but we know we are given what we need and never challenged beyond our capabilities.

Has your integrity ever been questioned? How did you respond when your life turned upside down thanks to another person’s jealousy?

 

 

Tell me what you're thinking

