Praying On the First Day of School

First Grade Messenger Photo 1967 - Copy

My picture in the local paper before I started 1st Grade.

It’s hard to believe the first day of school is here.  It feels like yesterday I wrote about the last day of school.

Today as I dropped my grandchildren off for their first days in fourth grade and in kindergarten, I prayed for their safety as well as the safety of their schools and buses. I, also, prayed for each of their teachers by name as well as the bus drivers by name.

Do you pray for your children, their schools, and teachers? Our children are growing up in a world of increasing violence.  When I attended school, I never feared a gunman might enter the school and kill children, yet that is our normal.  So I pray…

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Phil 4:6-7

I started praying for my granddaughter, Victoria, when she was in kindergarten. Her brother, Amari, started kindergarten today and has the same wonderful teachers his sister had.  I have hazy memories of kindergarten, but it was a fun and happy time.  I pray his kindergarten year will be fun, too.

Victoria is now in fourth grade.  I have memories of all my school years, but I have many more from the fourth grade and beyond than the earlier years.  I had Mrs. Christenberry, a friend of our family and the same teacher my older sister and brother had.  I really began to love school that year.  I hope Victoria does the same.

Last June, I shared my prayer frame with my readers, but, so you don’t have to jump back to that post, I’m sharing it again.  I pray this for all of my grandchildren and family members (immediate and distant) who work on school properties. It’s important to me to do this every day.  After I pray, I feel I can move on with my day.

If you don’t have a loved one attending or working in a school, then pray for the nearest schools or your neighbor’s family members.

Here is my prayer:

Our heavenly father, today I lift up [the name of the school] before you and ask your protection over this school. Do not let anyone or anything that would cause harm or evil to cross over the borders, boundaries, or threshold of this school.  Please be with the faculty, staff, administration, volunteers, and students and bless them with patience and caring for their students. Lord especially, I lift up [teachers’ names and others who have contact with my children] and ask a special blessing upon them. Amen.

When I started praying this prayer, I chose to protect the borders, boundaries, and thresholds of the schools.  You might wonder why I used those terms instead of praying for hedges of protection.  The borders cover the boundary lines around the school property, the threshold protects the interior of the school, and the boundaries protect it from above and below.  Hedges, to me, never satisfied all of the potential directions harm can strike at the school.

The important point is not how you pray, it’s that you PRAY.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  1 Thess. 5:16-18

 

3 thoughts on “Praying On the First Day of School

  1. Barbara, I heard a discussion today about gender choice. What a troubling time our children are navigating. Parents and those in parental roles need our prayers as well as support and encouragement. Thank you for sharing your prayer frame. I will use it in my prayer time.

  2. Pingback: How Do We Stop the Violence? – The Workbench of Faith

Tell me what you're thinking

