Life Lessons From Our Favorite Disney Movies

lovecloudSomehow I ended up on an email list for Disney information.  I’m not sure how or why, and I definitely don’t need Disney baby items, but…the email advertising baby furniture included a link to a post about life lessons learned from Finding Nemo.  Curious, I followed the link and found a wonderful lesson to use with this insightful movie.

You can read the whole post here, and I encourage you to do so.

After reading it, though, I began to think about my favorite Disney movies.  I love movies, especially Disney ones, and my favorites have always been Beauty and the Beast and Sleeping Beauty.

I’ll be the first to admit that older movies might not offer much in the way of life lessons, but I did manage this nugget from Sleeping Beauty:

If you hide the ugly truth from your children, it might jump up and bite you.

My parents hid the ugliness of the world from me.  They thought they were protecting me. Then when I was confronted by the reality of a violent family, I had nothing useful to gauge its dangers by.  I used my experience reading romances to understand the situation.  Now, I’ve written previously about how many romances paint an enthralling picture of unstable relationships, so I won’t bother to repeat it here.  The point is, sometimes we shouldn’t hide the truth from our children.  They will find out elsewhere, and often by making a mistake that might be avoided otherwise.

My lesson from Beauty and the Beast is that women do not need a man to save them.  We’ve seen this shift in Disney movies over the last few decades, and I, for one, and am pleased to see this.

There is only one man who can save any of us.  Jesus.

What’s your favorite Disney movie and what lessons can you learn from it?

Tell me what you're thinking

