Prayer on the Last Day of School

Today is the last day of school for my grandchildren, Victoria and Amari. Since they came to live with us last September, it’s been an emotional roller coaster. We’ve dealt with courts, attorneys, caseworkers, a guardian ad litem, day cares, teachers, principals, after school programs, and many others during this journey.

Today as they left, I sat down and prayed for their safety as well as the safety of their schools and buses. I, also, prayed for each of their teachers by name as well as the bus drivers by name.  I have done this for several years, even when they didn’t live with us. Today, it brought tears to my eyes. A school year is over, and all of these people have helped me provide a caring environment as they adjusted to the upheaval of the world as they know it. I will always be indebted to them.

Do you pray for your children, their schools, and teachers?

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6-7

I started praying for Victoria when she was in kindergarten. She lived with us for a few months that year. I hate to admit that I didn’t start the year doing this. It took the tragedy at Sandy Hook to make me wake up and realize that schools are not the safe haven they once were. My children had not been in the public schools by the time of Columbine, so the events jarred me but didn’t wake me to action. Now I know differently.

Today, Victoria finishes third grade.  On Awards Day she received awards for all A’s, the highest average in Science, Excellence in Art, 2nd Place in the PTA Photography Reflections Contest, and a Reading Award.

© 2016 All Rights Reserved

© 2016 All Rights Reserved

Amari finishes 4K today. He’s come a long way with several challenges on his plate involving delayed development, but yesterday at his end of year celebration, he received the Math Counting Scholar award.

© 2016 All Rights Reserved

© 2016 All Rights Reserved

I have hazy memories of kindergarten, but it was a fun and happy time. I will continue to pray next year as Amari and Victoria and my other grandchildren grow and progress.

Do you pray for your children and grandchildren? If you don’t, let me share with you the framework of my prayer:

Our heavenly father, today I lift up [the name of the school] before you and ask your protection over this school. Do not let anyone or anything that would cause harm or evil cross over the borders, the boundaries, or the threshold of this school.  Please be with the faculty, staff, administration, volunteers, and students and bless them with patience and caring for their students. Lord especially, I lift up [teachers’ names and others who have contact with my children] and ask a special blessing upon them. Amen.

Sometimes, I say more. Sometimes, I don’t. But every day they head off to school, I pray for them and those I entrust with their care.

2 thoughts on “Prayer on the Last Day of School

  1. Lovely post, Barbara. I know this year has been a challenge, but you’ve risen to it with grace and strength–and prayer. I pray for quite a few folks (including you and yours), my church, the Church in general, etc., and when I have lots of time I pray for the country, the government, its leaders, etc. My prayer list gets longer and longer.

Tell me what you're thinking

