Lessons From a Lighthouse: Shine Your Light

© Barbara V. Evers, All rights reserved.

© Barbara V. Evers, All rights reserved.

We climbed 207 steps to the top of Cape Lookout Lighthouse.

Yes.  207 spiraling steps.

It wasn’t a cool day.  It wasn’t a very breezy day either.  It took work, but we made it.

At the top, we found breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and the sound between the lower outer banks and the mainland. Shackleford Island, home to wild horses for centuries, spread out in one direction, and I managed to capture photos of the horses even though, at that distance, they were tiny dots.

Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  Matthew 5:15

The lighthouse at Cape Lookout was the first lighthouse built on the Outer Banks in 1805.  It stood ninety-seven feet high, but ships found it difficult to locate. The barrier islands are surrounded with shoals dangerous to a ship. The light wasn’t doing its job. In 1859, a taller lighthouse replaced the first one. It stands 163 feet high and became the guide for building others along the coast.

Christ tells us to put our lamp on a stand.  It must be visible. If it’s not, you need to rethink your efforts. Just like climbing the lighthouse stairs, this takes work.  We can’t proclaim ourselves a light for others unless we choose to work at being that light.

Therefore, if your whole body is full of light, and no part of it dark, it will be just as full of light as when a lamp shines its light on you.”  Luke 11:36

What can you do to make your light shine? Before you answer with the typical three–read your Bible, pray, and attend church–I ask you to reconsider your answer.  Yes.  we should do those things, but they are the first steps on that 207 step climb. They might get you to the first landing inside the lighthouse (there were four landings, and a ladder-like staircase at the very top).

What else can you do to let your light shine in order to save people from the dangerous shoals and shallows surrounding them?

At the top of the lighthouse. © Barbara V. Evers, All rights reserved.

At the top of the lighthouse.
© Barbara V. Evers, All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Lessons From a Lighthouse: Shine Your Light

  1. That lighthouse never leaves its spot…it is anchored. People come and go…it doesn’t force its will on them. It is a lighthouse and everyone accepts that. When I go to the lighthouse I respect it and I learn of its history. I work to know it and take part in all it has to offer. Then I leave with new insights of the battles it has endured, and many other things and how can all that I learned from it help me in my own life.
    I am anchored in Christ, ready to share…ask questions…know when you walk up to me I am ready to give a Word directed by the Holy Spirit, the failings, the successes, and after you leave me maybe you will remember me and it will help you along the way with Jesus. I hope so…it is my prayer to Jesus. ❤

Tell me what you're thinking

