Domestic Violence: When Women Defend Against an Abuser

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

October is Domestic Violence Awareness month. If you check back through my posts tagged “The Journey” you will find several posts on my own experiences with abuse. These are difficult to write. I’ve not had the stomach to continue these posts over the last few weeks. It’s painful to revisit these experiences.

I will continue the journey story soon, but I didn’t want to ignore current issues in the news. I live in South Carolina, a state that has a “Stand Your Ground” law. If you’re not familiar with this law, it states that if a person’s life is endangered, they have the right to defend themselves.

Why do I mention this? Because prosecutors are refusing an abused woman the right to this defense because she KNEW her attacker. Why do women stay? Out of fear for what the abuser might do to stop them if they try to leave.

I’m going to let the news speak for the rest of this situation. Please check out this article on the situation in SC.  I hope this moves you to find a way to stand up for women who are victimized by the very person who is supposed to love them more than anyone.

 

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

7 thoughts on “Domestic Violence: When Women Defend Against an Abuser

  1. Thanks for making me aware that October is Domestic Violence Awareness month.
    Barbara, I do understand from first hand experience that writing about past abuse is painful. However, mine was childhood abuse. I would like to encourage you to continue to make us aware of the problem, the resolve, and your personal walk with the Lord to get you out of the abusive life. Your vulnerability and honesty with exposing the problem will help others by guiding us readers in helping too.

    Write on!

  2. Personally, I’m opposed to stand your ground laws(as I understand them) in that a reasonable person should always try to avoid violent confrontation. Having said that if the law exist it should apply equally to domestic violence as to a stranger. crow

  3. Pingback: October Is Domestic Violence Awareness Month – The Workbench of Faith

Tell me what you're thinking

