Blessings From Helping Hands

Image courtesy of Nutdanai Apikhomboonwaroot/freedigitalphotos.net

Image courtesy of Nutdanai Apikhomboonwaroot /freedigitalphotos.net

 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.”

Matthew 25:  37-40

 

It took most of the summer for my body to recover from the effects of the medication that saved my life after our daughter was born.  During this time, life happened: the day-to-day existence of running a home and taking care of a baby.

However, in the midst of this time of illness and recovery, God provided some bright lights in my life:

1.  Our family doctor never asked me to pay for all of the medical care he provided.  With weekly visits to draw blood and check my SED rate, the cost was beyond our abilities.  Looking back, now, I recall asking the receptionist a few times and being told not to worry about the cost right then.  We didn’t have insurance and still were paying the hospital for my eight day stay, so I didn’t argue.  Today, I would find that difficult, but I don’t think many doctors today would do this either.  Dr. Hunter treated me from the time I was seven or eight months old.  When he passed away a few years ago, I learned at his funeral that many others benefited from this same commitment to healing those who couldn’t afford the care.

2. During my illness, my husband missed several weeks of class.  When I suggested he should go and explain the situation to his teachers, he refused.  Unlike me, he’d given up.  I couldn’t afford to give up…and that never was part of my nature, anyway.  So, one day I took the baby over to the school and located his teachers.  It came as no surprise to me that they understood family emergencies and were willing to help him complete his work for the semester.

3. Our daughter continued to grow and thrive.  My recovery might be slow, but she blossomed.  The doctor always praised my care of her and her health every time I brought her in for a check up.  Yes, this was Dr. Hunter.  She remained in the highest percentile for her age and never got sick during this time.  In fact, she was almost a year old before she got sick.

Things weren’t perfect.  Life was hard.  My husband and I didn’t get along well all of the time, and he often went out in the evenings leaving me alone, but even in a horrible marriage, there are some blessings.  This was my time to heal.

When have people stepped in and helped you through a difficult time?  What did they do?

 

 

NOTE:  This post is part of a series on my journey to faith.  If you would like to read all of the posts related to this topic, please select The Journey in the list of tags in the right hand border of this blog.  Please share this with others who might benefit from hearing my story.

Tell me what you're thinking

