Keeping the Peace

© Barbara V. Evers, Do Not Copy

© Barbara V. Evers, Do Not Copy

Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through peace.  Ephesians 4:3

As my body fought off the side-effects of the medications that saved my life, I stayed at my parents’ home. My husband sometimes stayed, but he hated the idea of being in their house.  Every other day, I returned to the doctor to check my SED rate and follow my progress.  In tiny increments, the rate dropped, and, thanks to the rest I was getting, I began to improve.

One night when my husband did choose to stay, he overheard a conversation between my father and me.  I had gone downstairs to get a drink around midnight, and my father chose then to talk to me about their concern that I jumped out of bed every time my daughter woke in the night.  Mom worried I wasn’t getting the rest I needed, but it was hard for me to ignore the instinctual response to my child’s cries.

I discussed this with my dad and returned upstairs, unaware that my husband had eavesdropped.  I found him packing our stuff up ready to leave.  He was livid that my mother thought I shouldn’t get up to care for our child.  I tried to explain, but he was adamant.  He was leaving and taking the baby.  It was up to me whether to stay or go.

I went.  Why?  I knew the kind of drama and turmoil he could create because there was no way I was letting my child leave without me.  Either I kept the peace and went or turned the house upside down at 1 am by refusing to go.  I chose peace.

It killed me.  He wouldn’t let me leave a note.  We packed up and slipped out of the house in the early hours of morning.  It was Mother’s Day.  My first and worst.

On the next day, I had to go back by the house to pick up a few things we’d left behind.  My mother wouldn’t speak to me.  My father told me she had searched for a note, convinced I would have left one.

I told him I was sorry.  I hadn’t wanted to leave but felt I had to choose my husband at the time.  I was married to him after all.

I kept the peace in the family that had become my own.

Sometimes keeping the peace means choosing which side has peace.  Sometimes, there is no option that works.  I was in one of those situations.  No matter what I did, someone was going to hurt.  I opted for the one that allowed my family and baby to sleep through the night.

I doubt I’d make the same choice if faced with it today.  Would you?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Keeping the Peace

  1. Back then, yes, I probably would have made the same choice. Now? Ha! Kick that guy to the curb! Love my older, smarter, braver, self!

    • Valerie, thank you for that. It’s so tough to look at the choices I made at the time through the person I am now. Glad to know others, in their youth, might respond as I did.

  2. My goodness, Barbara, you have had an unbelievable journey so far. And I know there’s more to come. I can’t imagine what you went through. But oh, what ministries have come out of your struggles! Thank you for using your scars to reach out to other hurting women.

Tell me what you're thinking

