The World is a Better Place Because…

As I lay awake this morning contemplating whether I could manage a few more minutes of sleep or not, this line came to me:

The world is a better place because…

Dumbfounded, I tried to finish the statement, but it was a struggle.  If you think about the current state of our world or look back at some of my previous posts (Why Abuse Victims Stay, Healing from Trials and Hardships, Why? How?  A Grandmother’s Questions), you might be hard pressed to complete it, too.  It’s easy to say why it’s not a better place.  The evidence is around us.

I eventually finished this statement with my family, especially my grandchildren, and my God…not necessarily in that order.

Then, I thought about the people in this world who don’t have a faith to fall back on.  How do they get up each day?  How do they move forward with purpose in their lives when there is so much violence and hatred surrounding them?

In James 1:2, Christians receive this admonishment:

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds.

Easier said than done, but the clue to this is our faith.  Without our faith and the knowledge that God will carry us through, how can you survive?  God gives us the hope and promise of eternal salvation.  He warns us that this world is not our home.  We can carry forward because of this.  We know that whatever happens, God is in control.  We have the Holy Spirit to guide and comfort us.   We have the love of Christ to show us how valuable we are.  Everyone can have this, but not  everyone accepts it.

But I mourn for those who don’t know this hope.

How else do you finish this statement?

The world is a better place because…

 

PS  Apologies for such a long stretch without a blog post.  I became ill following my last post and it took three weeks to get well.  I’m fine and it was nothing serious, but it put me way behind on a LOT of things.

The world is a better place because…. please let me know your thoughts!

One thought on “The World is a Better Place Because…

  1. You’re right, Barbara, it can only be a better place because of the hope we have–the knowledge that one day we’ll leave all this mess behind and live eternally with Him!

Tell me what you're thinking

