Is God Real?

My five-year-old granddaughter’s words chilled me:  “God isn’t real.”

© Barbara V. Evers, Do Not Copy

© Barbara V. Evers, Do Not Copy

What?  Just two weeks earlier while discussing the birth of Jesus, she had told me, “Jesus is dead.”  When I asked her why she would say that, her response made me think she was confused by his death on the cross.  I explained, “He rose again.  He came back to life because He’s God’s son.”

Her response?  “They stole the body.”

This from a five year old?  Who in the world tells a child these things?

I tried to come up with a response a small child could understand.  I was putting her to bed, and she had begged me to stay with her.  She didn’t want to be alone.  I told her she was never alone because God is always there.  That’s when she enlightened me on his non-existence.  She added, “You can’t see him, so he’s not real.”

“Oh, yes you can,” I told her.  “Everywhere you look you can see what God has done.  I’ll show you tomorrow on the way to school.”

“I want you to show me God now,” she said with some interest in her voice.

“Tomorrow morning,” I said.

On the way to school, I showed her everything God made:  grass, weeds, frost, the sun, trees, bushes, rocks, cows, horses, goats, etc.  After awhile, all I had to say was, “Do you see that tree?”

“God made it!” she answered.

At some point on that crucial ride, she announced in a happy voice, “God is my special Daddy.”

Amen!

I have no idea who told her these horrible lies, who felt it was necessary to destroy her faith before it had a chance to take hold, but I do know that we can never stop teaching our children.  There are enough people out there trying to tell them differently.

 

These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts.  Impress them on your children.  Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road , when you lie down and when you get up.  Deut. 6:6-7

 

How do you keep God’s message alive for the children in your life?  Or for yourself?

7 thoughts on “Is God Real?

  1. Oh my, Barbara! What a horrible thing for someone to do to a little girl! Praise God she spoke up so you could speak truth to her. And praise Him that her heart was still young and tender and desiring to believe…

  2. Valerie, thank you for recognizing that. This is one of the reasons I don’t mind having her with us.

    Vonda, I agree. I don’t understand why someone told her these things, and for all I know it was a classmate, but it’s a wake up call to Christians that the opposition is starting on them early.

    Celeste, the funny thing is that we talk about God and Jesus every day, so these statements were very unexpected. When she said them, there was such a sadness in her voice. It made me want to cry.

  3. I can only imagine how shocking and heart-wrenching her comments were. And yes, thank God she has you in her life to shower her in Truth. I pray it wasn’t a teacher who told her those lies! God bless you as you serve Him and your grandchildren. Danie

  4. So glad you were able to help her see God and have a peace that He is her “special Daddy”. You and Bruce are in our prayers.

Tell me what you're thinking

