The Demise of The Big Green Body Bag

Moldy Mess

It’s gone.  The big green body bag I dragged to every team-building training class in the last twelve years.  Yes, it was heavy, but it triggered such fun reactions from people when they saw it.  Packed with a variety of props for team-building activities, it weighed too much to carry.  Either I dropped it on a cart and wheeled it through the building or I dragged it.  After one too many questions of:  “What you got there, Barbara, a dead body?” I started calling it the big green body bag.

The bag contained items for my favorite training activity, Objects in a Box.  This activity required rope, a variety of balls, megaphones, squeaky toys, half of a hulu hoop, dice, etc.  When I pulled the bag out for class last week, a fine dusting of ceiling debris coated it.  What happened?  Soon, I learned that the storage closet sprang a leak during one of our recent rain storms.  No one in the building discovered this for a few days, and so the bag sat in the water for a while.  As I feared, when I opened the bag, it wasn’t a pretty sight.  Good-bye big green body bag.

On my way home that night, I ruminated over the demise of the bag.  I’d used it for twelve years, and the trainers who came before me used it, too.  Who knows how old that compilation of items really was.  It was time for something newer and up-to-date.  Still a part of me mourned it.

Then I remembered the Bible verse:

A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit.  Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.  Thus, by their fruit, you will recognize them.   Matt. 7:18-20

Jesus spoke of souls in this passage, warning that those who don’t bear fruit will not be saved.  We’ve heard this verse discussed that way many times, but what about the things in your life?  Do you cling to stuff that doesn’t produce good fruit?  If I kept that bag of training items and tried to clean it as one co-worker suggested, I risked the chance of spreading illness to my students.  Not a good thing.  The big green body bag no longer bore good fruit.  The items inside had mildew and mold and probably tiny microscopic things growing on them.

So, I ask you, what do you have hanging around bearing bad fruit or no fruit?  Are they worth it? Do you need them?  Are they keeping you from bearing good fruit?

Autumn is a good time for a little bonfire.

2 thoughts on “The Demise of The Big Green Body Bag

Tell me what you're thinking

