A Day of Rest

I’m late writing this post.  It should have been up on Tuesday or Wednesday, but it’s been one of those weeks.  I had two VERY loooonnnnnng days in the middle of the week, and like a crazy person tried to answer a few emails after one of those 20 hour days.  Needless to say, I had to go back and correct my errors in those emails later.  Luckily, the recipients understood and didn’t judge me too strongly when I told them the next date for our writers’ meeting was a day in the past.  Oops.  I don’t even know what month it was.

So, this is brief, but an important reminder that sometimes we need to slow it down.  I didn’t anticipate the craziness of this past week, and there was no way to prevent it.  I mean, who knew I’d get a flat tire at 9pm on Monday night?  I’m trying to remember small blessings like the fact that AAA showed up in 15 minutes rather than the promised 60.  That an acquaintance stayed with me while I waited in the Earthfare parking lot for AAA to show up.  That my mother is still with us and I can see her every day.  That my children, at this moment, are healthy and working.  That I had work to do this week as opposed to the majority of my summer.

Today is Sunday, God’s prescribed day of rest.  In the Bible, the Pharisees tried to turn God’s guidance into punishing rules.  This is one rule where they really missed the boat.  God told the Israelites to rest on the seventh day because he knew THEY needed it.  It was his way of telling them to relax and do nothing for a day.  Most of us wish for that kind of day.  Make sure you take one regularly.

That’s what I’m doing today.

One thought on “A Day of Rest

Tell me what you're thinking

