Finding True and Pure Belief

I’ll never forget the first time I took my daughters to a movie where they didn’t need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the action.  This incredible milestone, the movie that entranced my daughters beyond the call of their bladders, was Willow.  This fantastical movie, directed by Ron Howard, told the story of a race of dwarf-like people who find a baby of another race of people.  Their village, fearing reprise, send the character, Willow, played by, Warwick Davis, to return the baby to her people.  During Willow’s journey, he meets many make-believe characters including two brownies played by Kevin Pollak and Rick Overton.

A few weeks after we saw this movie, the actors who played the brownies appeared on a children’s television show.  To my amazement, I learned that my daughters believed these two men were actually brownies, tiny little people no taller than six or seven inches.  The girls argued vehemently with me, almost hysterical over the fact that their mother couldn’t believe.  I tried to explain that the movie studio used special types of photography to film the normal-sized men to appear so tiny.  They were having none of it.

I remembered this the other day during a sermon that touched on Mark 10:15:

I assure you: Whoever does not welcome the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.

Welcome the kingdom of God–believe in the kingdom of God wholeheartedly–that’s what Christ expects from us.  Nothing I said convinced my young daughters that they were wrong.  They believed and loved the idea of the brownies.  As I read through this passage, I marveled at the strength of my daughters’ belief in the brownies.  This is the kind of conviction, devotion, and love that Christ expects from us.

I don’t know about you, but for me that’s a pretty tall order.  I believe, and at times, I become animated and fully sold out for Christ.  I’m ashamed to admit, though, that the day-to-day happenings of my life often don’t reflect the childlike love and belief that Christ describes.  Convicted, all I can do is pray for spiritual guidance from Him to help me fill in the gaps.

Do you believe in the kingdom of God?  In Christ’s salvation?  Do you love the idea so much that you will argue, even with your mother, to prove your point?  Can others see the childlike nature of your faith?  Difficult questions, but ones we should explore as Christians.

One thought on “Finding True and Pure Belief

  1. I know what you mean, Barbara. I want to please Him and believe everything I know about Him. But there are so many times I act as if I believe anything BUT the truth. Praise God, He is greater than all my sin!

Tell me what you're thinking

